Just how autonomous?

Today my sister forwarded a link about an autonomous Uber fatality (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWXqn4rg2WQ). She warned that it was just the beginning, and when she did, some neuron snapped in my mind: Asimov. I recalled a story I had read long ago by the revered Isaac Asimov, sci-fi wizard, about just such a premise. 


For those unfamiliar, the story is "Sally." I encourage anyone reading this post to read the story as well. Skipping over the larger plot points, the end of "Sally" leaves us with a single question: can a car kill? 


Asimov, ever one to lead his readers by the nose, heavily implies that the answer is yes. The question I ask readers now to consider is: how much evidence would we need to believe such a murder *intentional*?



That's it for now. Drive safe, all. 

views