Baking Portfolio

Mixing it up a little today (pun intended) to detail the collection of baked goods I've made in the last few months! I'll be adding to this periodically. 

If you have any questions about recipes or general tips, comment away :) 

---

This is far less flashy than later entries, but maybe my favorite: plain white sandwich bread. No bread machine, yet soft and lovely.

With extra batter, I made cookies two ways. I used a mini, crimped muffin tin and got a slightly doughy cookie-muffin, along with the traditional chocolate-chip flats. 

These are a mix of peach and fig walnut rugelach made for Channukah...for the non-kosher, anyway. 

The poppyseed lemon teacake I made came out especially nice, moist and compact yet light in the right way. Great with black tea.

I always like to measure out first and clean as I go when possible. It's nice, too, to see the whole deconstructed product together.

A little wash of lemon frosting gives the outside of the cake just the right, light crisp. 

The finished loaf, along with some homemade persimmon-cranberry sauce and brownies.

I neglected to take a photo of the loaf, but these cross-sections give an inside look at my* walnut banana bread.

*This particular loaf made from a recipe gifted by Irene Hesse. Thank you, Irene!

---

* baking intermission *

Now for a brief baking break to remember that general noshing is good, too! Even better, crackers are a noshing tradition. I sometimes sustain myself whole days on leftover batter, but when I have some crackers at hand (or feel like burning some), here's another option: 

little plate with fresh berries, mustard-blanched asparagus, raisin-pepita crisps, prosciutto, boursin toast, a little raclette cheese and some cold rotisserie chicken breast. I'm a sucker for smorgasbords. 

* end baking intermission*

Now back to the main event!

This year I was lucky enough to pull off a Ukranian poppyseed roll. This is an old favorite, first attempt baking at home. 

Here's the inside view.


Next, chocolate cherry muffins! Made with frozen cherries. 

Just today: true bludor muffins. Blueberry muffins with a high tudor collar. Next time with lemon. 

And a close-up of the noble presentation: 


Although this isn't strictly baking, I also prepped my first stuffing for a chicken.


----

Other treats lack a photograph (I'll be more aware as of 2018), but if you have suggestions of what to make, tell me


what obvious baked good am I missing?


Please shout out in the comments! I'll always consider requests. 

 

views